Noyan Wins 2019 Hanawalt Award

Jan 15 2019

I. Cevdet Noyan, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and of Earth and Environmental Engineering and former Chair of the APAM Department, has won the 2019 Hanawalt Award from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD).

This award, which is presented by the ICDD every three years, "is named in honor of J. Donald Hanawalt, whose pioneering work in the 1930's led to the development of the PDF database structure and search/match procedures still in use today. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished, recent work in the field of powder diffraction." (ICDD website)

Noyan was selected for this honor for his many relevant contributions to X-ray diffraction methods and for the depth and breadth of knowledge in combining materials science and diffraction characterization. Among the most recent contributions specifically addressed to Powder Diffraction, the Hanawalt Award Selection Committee considered the recent articles published by his group in the Journal of Applied Crystallography 48 (2015) 1212-1227 and 50 (2017) 1307-1322, showing a rigorous physical modeling of the scattering processes from nanocrystalline materials.

Noyan received his Ph.D. in Materials Science & Engineering from Northwestern University in 1984. His early research work was at IBM, where he received two IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Awards for research and development of computer and packaging structures, an IBM Research Division Award for research on diffusion barriers, and 11 IBM Invention Plateaus for filed patents. He is also coauthor of the monograph, Residual Stress: Measurement by Diffraction and Interpretation (Materials Research and Engineering).

Prof. Noyan is a member of the organizing committee of the Denver X-ray Conference and co-editor of the Advances in X-Ray Analysis. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, received the Blackall Machine Tool and Gage Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 2006, and received the International Centre for Diffraction Data’s 2015 Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award, the most prestigious honor for scientists who advance the use of x-rays in materials analysis.

Prof. Noyan is the second faculty member in the APAM Department to receive the Hanawalt Award. Simon Billinge, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics, won the award in 2010.

For more information regarding the Hanawalt Award, see: