Lawrence Rothenberg  

Lawrence Rothenberg

Adjunct Professor of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics

200 S.W. Mudd
Mail Code 4701
New York, NY 10027

Research Interests

diagnostic x-ray image quality assessments, mammography and CT dosimetry, radition protection

Lawrence Rothenberg is an attending physicist emeritus and Director of the Postdoctoral Training Program and the Medical Imaging Physics Residency Program in the Department of Medical Physics at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

He has been very active in teaching various aspects of medical imaging physics to radiology residents, radiation oncology residents, medical physics residents, and graduate students for more than 45 years. He is also the Associate Program Director of the Therapeutic Medical Physics Residency Program. He holds a New York State license as medical physicist in diagnostic radiology. His research interests have been in the areas of dosimetry and image-quality evaluation in radiography/fluoroscopy, mammography, and computed tomography. He is certified in radiological physics by the American Board of Radiology and is a fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM), the American College of Medical Physics, the American College of Radiology, and the Health Physics Society. He is a Distinguished Emeritus Member and has served as scientific committee chair and member of the Board of Directors of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements. He is a past president of the AAPM, which has honored him with the Edith H. Quimby Lifetime Achievement Award. He received his PhD in nuclear physics from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Professional Experience

Clinical Member, MSKCC, 1999-2007

Associate Professor of Physics, Dept. of Radiology, Weill Cornell

Medical College, 1979-2007

Selected Professional Affiliations

Fellow and past President, AAPM

Fellow, ACR

Fellow, ACMP

Fellow, HPS

Fellow and past Chairman of the Board of Chancellors, ACMP

Past Secretary/Treasurer and original Board Member, CAMPEP

Past President, RAMPS

Board member, ABMP

Committee member, ABR

Distinguished Member Emeritus, NCRP

Honors & Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award from AAPM